Uncertainty of Geosynthetic Test Methods – by George Koerner

Dr. George R. Koerner, Director of the Geosynthetic Institute (GSI)

Hear industry great, Dr. George R. Koerner, talk about the importance of test measurement uncertainty at a webinar next month.

His lecture, ‘Establishing uncertainty of geosynthetic test methods’ will explore the value of testing result uncertainty for laboratories, their clients and stakeholders for comparative purposes.

Participants of the webinar, hosted by the IGS Technical Committee on Barriers (TC-B), will learn how every measurement result contains an independent amount of uncertainty. This measurement is key to mitigating risks, improving quality and reducing costs.

The webinar will draw from the Geosynthetic Accreditation Institute-Laboratory Accreditation Program (GAI-LAP), which was created in 1995 following numerous requests to accredit the operations of testing laboratories in the geosynthetic community.

The presentation will rely heavily on 25 years of GAI-LAP database results from more than 114 laboratories worldwide to establish uncertainty in geosynthetics used for critical applications.

Dr. Koerner is the Director of the Geosynthetic Institute (GSI) where his responsibilities include laboratory accreditation, certification, information and education. He also manages research projects and has published more than 200 technical papers in his 35 years in the geosynthetics industry.

The lecture is repeated two times in two different dates and times for different time zones:

REGISTRATION:

    • Registration for Time zone 1: June 21 at 11am AEST (June 20 at 9pm EST, June 21 at 1am UTC/GMT). Please check the local webinar date and time in your area at registration. REGISTER HERE.
    • Registration for Time zone 2 – repeat session: June 28 at 9am EST (June 28 at 1pm UTC/GMT, June 28 at 11pm AEST). Please check the local webinar date and time in your area at registration. REGISTER HERE.

Missed the previous IGS TC-B webinar by Dr. Fady B. Abdelaal on ‘Long-term performance of different polymeric geomembranes in extreme high and low pH mining solutions’? It will be repeated on June 3, 2021, at 9am EST (1pm UTC/GMT, 11pm AEST). Register for Dr. Fady’s repeat session HERE.

For more about the webinars, contact TC-B secretary Amir Shahkolahi at amir@globalsynthetics.com.au.

For more about the IGS TC-B, click here.

Categories: Event News, News

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*

nineteen − 8 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.