Skip to content

Introducing the 18th IGS Council

At the recent 11th International Conference on Geosynthetics (11th ICG) held in Seoul, Korea the IGS Council marked the beginning of a new Council term. At the General Assembly the officers and council members elected to serve for the 2018-2022 term were announced and officially took office. The elected officers are: Chungsik Yoo – President, Nathalie Touze – Vice President and Russell Jones Immediate Past President. As per the IGS by-laws the new council elected a Treasurer and Secretary from amongst the council membership. Ian Fraser, a 4 year member of the Council was appointed to the position of IGS Treasurer. Edoardo Zannoni, a 6 year member of the Council was appointed to the position of IGS Secretary General. In addition to these appointments the IGS Council co-opted members in order to better represent the diversity of the IGS membership within the council. Laura Carbone is the current Chair of the Young Members Committee and Gerhard Bräu continues as the Editor of IGS News and in those positions they have a permanent invitation to participate in council meetings. 


C. Yoo (Korea) President R. Jones (U.K.) Immediate Past-President
N. Touze (France) Vice President I. Fraser (U.K.) Treasurer
E. Zannoni (South Africa) Secretary General G. Bräu (Germany)* IGS News Editor
L. Carbone (Italy)* Chair of the Young Members Committee D. Alexiew (Germany) Council Member
S. Allen (U.S.A.) Council Member A. Alza (Peru)+ Council Member
J. Cote (Canada) Council Member F. Fontana (Italy) Council Member
E. Guler (Turkey) Council Member J. Han (U.S.A.) Council Member
C. Hsieh (Taiwan)+ Council Member W. Hornsey (Australia)+ Council Member
T. Katsumi (Japan) Council Member J. Kawalec (Poland)* Council Member
P. Kendall (Australia) Council Member H. Kim (Korea) Council Member
J. Koseki (Japan) Council Member F. Montez (Brazil)+ Council Member
B. Ramsey (China) Council Member P. Rimoldi (Italy) Council Member
M. Vankataraman (India)* Council Member K. von Maubeuge (Germany) Council Member
C. Xu (China)+ Council Member M. Ziegler (Germany) Council Member

Denotes a co-opted member
Denotes an invited member