Skip to content

IGS-NA 2019 Student Presentation Competition

From the 10th to the 13th of February 2019 the bi-annual Geosynthetics Conference was hosted at the Marriot Marquis hotel in Houston, Texas under the theme Strengthening Infrastructure Safety, Reliability and Longevity.  Among the more than 1300 attendants five students participated in a presentation competition hosted by North America chapter of the International Geosynthetics Society (IGS-NA) and supported by the Geosynthetics Materials Association (GMA).  Students members of IGS-NA were invited to submit abstracts that were subsequently used to select the five finalists that presented. The competition was held to promote the research of Young Members of the IGS-NA as well as promote the Geosynthetic Conferences for Young Professional (GCYP) program of the IGS. Young Members are encouraged to contact Yewei Zheng of Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA regarding the GCYP program.

The following students participated in the IGS-NA student presentation competition:

Dawie Marx from the University of Texas Austin presented Optimisation of lined waste facility geometries.

Mohamed S. Morsy from Queen’s University presented Stress Crack Resistance – an enigma?

Ridvan Doger of the University of Oklahoma presented a study on the Performance of GRS Bridge Abutment with Large Concrete Blocks.

Mustapha Rahmaninezhad of the University of Kansas presented the Behavior of Geosynthetic-Reinforced Retaining Walls with wrapped-around and modular block facing subjected to footing loads.

Mahdi Al-Naddef of the University of Kansas – Effect of Geosynthetic Reinforcement on soil arching mobilization and degradation under different modes of soil movements and surface loading.

Four judges evaluated the student presentations, focusing on clarity of presentation, logical flow, and lessons learned. Based on their votes, Dawie Marx was the winner of the competition. He receives a $1,000 prize from GMA members. IGS-NA provided the conference registration fees for all five student presentation participants.