Skip to content

IGS Awards: Call for Nominations 2014 – 2017

The IGS Awards will be granted in 2018 to individuals or groups of individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the development and use of geotextiles, geomembranes, related products, or associated technologies through their scientific and technological achievements. For example, an award can be given for design and construction of a structure; publication of a technical document (e.g. paper, book, article, manual); completion of a research program; and development of new products and techniques. The Awards recognize the achievements completed and/or the validity of which have been demonstrated during the four-year period preceeding the year of the Award (i.e. 1st January 2014 to 31st December 2017). The winning entries will be publicised in IGS News, in a special press release on the IGS web site and in other IGS publications.

Timeline and Deadlines
Nominations must be received by the IGS Secretary (via the Secretariat at no later than 31 January 2018. The deadline for receipt of candidate award submission packages is 31 March 2018. Submission packages will be forwarded by the Secretariat to the Award Committee to review and to finalize their decisions, draft citations and report.
Awards will be presented during 11ICG in Seoul, Korea (16th to 21st September 2018), at the IGS Awards Ceremony tentatively scheduled at 16:30 no 19 September 2018.

There are two types of IGS Awards:
• The Young IGS Member Achievement Award
(This Award is for IGS Members who are less than 36 years of age on 31 December 2017)
• The IGS Award
Detailed information on these awards may be found on the Awards section of the IGS Website.
The awards will consist of a specially commissioned medal and a diploma.
If a group submission is made for the Young IGS Member Achievement Award, all members of the group should satisfy the age requirement. If this requirement is not satisfied, the entire group will be disqualified for the Young IGS Member Achievement Award. If a candidate, individual or group, satisfies the age requirement for the Young IGS Member Achievement Award, the entry submitted by this candidate will also be considered for The IGS Award (unless requested otherwise by the candidate). However, a candidate may only receive either the IGS Award or the Young IGS Member Achievement Award.

All members of IGS are eligible for IGS Awards except the President of IGS and the members of the Awards Committee. Candidates must be members of the IGS. If a group submission is made, all members of the group must be members of the IGS; if this requirement is not satisfied, the entire group will be disqualified. If a company is a candidate, this company must be a corporate member of the IGS. A company cannot be a candidate for the Young IGS Member Achievement Award.

The deadline for candidates to be members and companies to be corporate members of the IGS is 30 June 2017.

IGS members are encouraged to become candidates by providing a written nomination submission to the IGS Secretariat in accordance with the IGS Awards Rules found in the IGS Handbook beginning on page 78. Any IGS member except the members of the Awards Committee may also make nominations. The Communication, Education and Corporate committees of the IGS and the IGS Chapters are invited to make nominations. All candidates will be treated equally (i.e. irrespective of whether they make a personal submission or are nominated). There is no restriction in the number of awards an individual can receive. There is no time restriction between two periods of eligibility, which can correspond to two consecutive four years periods. However, awards can only be given to the same individual provided that they are attributed for two different bodies of work.
The Awards Committee will not be advised as to the name(s) of the individual/group making the submission/nomination (i.e. the method of candidature is confidential).

Nominations of candidates should be provided in English on a plane document (not letterhead) and submitted electronically to the IGS Secretariat The nomination should include:
• a clear statement of the contribution of the candidate that is to be considered (e.g. if a product, provide a clear definition of the product; if a paper(s) or book, give the full reference of the paper(s)/book; if a report, a full reference to the report; if a construction method, a clear description of the method and any references, etc.); and
• a clear statement indicating the originality, and significance of the candidate’s contribution to the discipline (i.e. in the field of geosynthetics, related products and/or associated technologies).
Candidates who have been nominated will be contacted by the IGS Secretary to obtain their agreement to be a candidate (and proof of age if the nomination is for the Young IGS Members Achievement Award). Each confirmed nominee will receive an email with submission details and time line.
All correspondence and activities related to nominations and award entries will be carried out in the strictest confidence by the IGS Secretary and the Awards Committee.

IGS Awards Committee
The Awards Committee appointed by the officers of the IGS comprises: Chairman Neil Dixon (UK), Secretary Erol Güler (Turkey), Jiro Kuwano (Japan), Bernardo Caicedo Hormaza (Colombia) and Stan Boyle (USA). The members of the committee have been selected so as to represent a broad cross-section of the discipline and for their technical expertise. The IGS Secretary Elizabeth Peggs will attend all meetings of the Awards Committee as an observer and coordinator.

Additional Information
The full text of the IGS Awards rules can be obtained from the IGS Secretariat Manager, Terry-Ann Paulo, or accessed on the IGS Web site under About IGS>>Society Documents>>IGS Handbook