Skip to content

Introducing the 19th IGS Council

The IGS is pleased to announce the 19th IGS Council. Following the conclusion of the mid-term election, the IGS Council co-opted and invited members in order to better represent the diversity of the IGS membership within the council. Co-opted members of the IGS Council are: Chiwan Wayne Hsieh (Taiwan), Hong Kwan (Hogan) Kim (Korea), Erol Tutumluer (U.S.A.), Chao Xu (China), and Kasia Zamara (U.K.). Co-opted Members enjoy the same voting rights as elected Members and shall retire or stand for election at the first ballot after the date of co-option.  Invited members of the IGS Council are: Fatma Baligh (Egypt), Andre Estevao Silva (Brazil), Vivek Kapadia (India), and Dawie Marx (U.S.A.). Dawie Marx is the current Chair of the Young Members Committee and the position has a permanent invitation to participate in council meetings. 

IGS Officers:

President Chungsik Yoo (Korea)
Vice President Nathalie Touze (France)
Secretary General Edoardo Zannoni (South Africa)
Treasurer Ian Fraser (U.K.)
Immediate Past President Russell Jones (U.K.)

IGS Council Members:

Dimiter Alexiew (Germany) Preston Kendall (Australia)
Sam Allen (U.S.A.) Hong Kwan Hogan Kim (Korea)+
Fatma Baligh (Egypt)* Dawie Marx (U.S.A.)*
Laura Carbone (Germany) Yoshi Miyata (Japan)
Jacques Cote (Canada) Jabulile Msiza (South Africa)
Andre Estêvão Silva (Brazil)* Pietro Rimoldi (Italy)
Francesco Fontana (Italy) Tim Stark (U.S.A.)
Jie Han (U.S.A.) Erol Tutumluer (U.S.A.)+
Chiwan Wayne Hsieh (Taiwan)+ Chao Xu (China)+
Vivek Kapadia (India)* Kasia Zamara (U.K.)+
Takeshi Katsumi (Japan) Helmut Zanzinger (Germany)
Jacek Kawalec (Poland)  

+ Denotes a co-opted member
Denotes an invited member

The IGS thanks the following outgoing members for their dedication, commitment and leadership over the years:

Top (From Left to Right): Augusto Alza (Peru), Gerhard Bräu (Germany), Erol Guler (Turkey), Warren Hornsey (Australia), and Junichi Koseki (Japan). Bottom (From Left to Right): Flavio Montez (Brazil), Boyd Ramsey (China), M. Venkataraman (India), Kent Von Maubeuge (Germany), and Martin Ziegler (Germany).

We are extremely grateful for the valuable contributions that our outgoing Council Members have made toward advancing the mission of the IGS.  The IGS is a volunteer organization and without the dedication and hard work of the volunteers we could not move forward!