Skip to content

IGS Young Members Committee Change Leadership

Dawie Marx

The IGS Young Members Committee (YMC) unanimously elected Dawie Marx as Chair and Ian Scotland as Vice-Chair. Dawie and Ian succeeds Laura Carbone and Preston Kendall.

“Both Dawie and Ian have been very active in the Committee for many years and considering their commitment in the past, I am sure that the YMC is in good hands,” said Laura.

Dawie is currently a Graduate Research Assistant at The University of Texas at Austin under IGS Past President Jorge Zornberg. Dawie noted of his new role: “I am excited to start my tenure as chair of the Chair of the IGS Young Members Committee. The Young Members committee has been an excellent platform to meet with the future leaders of the geosynthetics industry. I am looking forward to building on the great work that has been done to date.”

Any IGS Young Members interested in activities of the committee can contact Dawie directly at or your local committee representative.