Skip to content

IGS Announces Honourary Member and Service Awards Presented in 2018

igsawardsimg_111214The International Geosynthetics Society Awards were presented during the General Assembly held on 20 September 2018 at 11ICG. IGS Awards are granted to individuals or groups of individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the development and use of geotextiles, geomembranes, related products or associated technologies through their scientific and technological achievements. This year the IGS recognized several of its members for their commitment and dedication to the IGS and the greater good of the geosynthetics discipline. (To read about IGS Awards given for outstanding research, click here.)

Honourary Member 2018

Dr. Ian Peggs

IGS Honourary Membership was bestowed to Dr. Ian Peggs for his long-term dedication and tireless effort to the Society, his contributions to the discipline and promotion of geosynthetics.


IGS Service Award

Professor Jorge Zornberg

  • IGS President 2010 – 2014 
  • IGS Council 2004 – 2018

The IGS Service Award was presented to Professor Jorge Zornberg in recognition of his long-term commitment, leadership, and dedication to IGS and the greater good of the geosynthetics discipline.


Click to see the Inaugural IGS Young Members Photo Contest Winner