Skip to content

TC-Barriers Webinar- Landfill Final Covers: Field hydrology, in-situ hydraulic properties, and long term performance

About the webinar:

Final covers play a critical role in long-term containment of waste and protection of the environment by controlling the ingress of precipitation and oxygen into waste, facilitating gas control and collection, and providing physical separation of waste from the environment. Over the past 25 years, the presenter has conducted extensive research on the field performance of final covers employing earthen and geosynthetic materials, with an emphasis on understanding factors that control percolation of water into the waste and egress of gas from the waste over the long-term. He has conducted more than 50 large-scale field studies around the world, some with more than two decades of field performance data. This webinar will present lessons learned regarding final cover performance from these field studies, including changes in the properties of earthen and geosynthetic materials used in covers over time and implications for long-term performance. The webinar will include practical lessons learned for the practicing engineer regarding final cover strategies that are effective, and those that should be avoided.

About the speaker:

Craig H. Benson is Wisconsin Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the former Dean of Engineering at the University of Virginia in the United States. He is recognized as one of the foremost international authorities on waste containment systems and is widely sought after for his expertise in design, operation, and performance assessment of waste disposal facilities. His expertise spans municipal solid waste, hazardous waste, coal combustion residuals, mining and mineral processing wastes, and low-level radioactive waste. Benson leads the Landfill Partnership for the US Department of Energy’s (DOE) Consortium for Risk Evaluation with Stakeholder Participation (CRESP), which provides research and technical support on design and performance of low-level radioactive waste and mixed waste disposal facilities. He was co-Principal Investigator on USEPA’s Alternative Cover Assessment Program (ACAP) and authored the USEPA guidance on design, evaluation, construction, and monitoring of water balance covers (aka ET covers). Benson also developed the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s (NRC) seminal guidance on the engineering properties of final covers for performance assessments of waste containment facilities. Most recently, he conducted NRC’s field performance assessment of in-service radon barriers for uranium mill tailings disposal facilities.

 

Registration:

Time zone 1 (July 20, 2022 8:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada, -5GMT)/ July 20, 2022 1:00 PM UTC/ July 20, 2022 3:00 PM CEST/ July 20, 2022 11:00 PM AEST): https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_VZOpz8lHRJOfBUiVh5Khbg

 

Time Zone 2 (July 26, 2022 3:00 PM AEST/ July 26, 2022 12:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada, -5GMT)/ July 26, 2022 5:00 AM UTC/ July 26, 2022 7:00 AM CEST): https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN__GZGwOX1QjSZ9V0lAqDtNw


Date

Jul 20, 2022

Time

UTC
1:00 pm